Pitcairn Islands

Halfway between New Zealand and Peru are the Pitcairn Islands, the last British Overseas Territory in the Pacific. Of the four islands in the Pitcairn Group, Henderson, Oeno, Ducie and Pitcairn only Pitcairn is inhabited.

What is rarely mentioned, it is a place of incredible natural beauty. Most of fifty permanent residents are the direct descendants of Pitcairn’s first European settlers, the HMAV Bounty mutineers, and their Polynesian consorts who settled on the Island in 1790.


This untouched subtropical Island with pristine waters, endemic flora, bird, and marine life, starts with an unforgettable sea voyage. The residents are known for their incredible hospitality, where you will develop long-lasting friendships and gain firsthand insight into their living history and culture.


The main Island is volcanic with a peak of 337 metres above sea level. There are a few beaches, mainly surrounded by cliffs. Of the other islands, Henderson is the largest. Comprised of coral formation, Henderson was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1988, and of its rare and endangered species of birds, four are endemic to the Island.


In contrast, Oeno is small and flat with great beaches and surrounded by a circular reef. Ducie Island is further to the east and comprises a circular reef, is rarely visited, mainly by researchers on specific factfinding trips.
Destinations In Pitcairn Islands
Pitcairn Islands
Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands.
The islands of Henderson, Ducie and Oeno, support remarkably pristine habitats and it is important for future generations...
Find Out More
Pitcairn Islands
Pitcairn Island
Pitcairn surely makes the bucket list for travellers looking for that memorable place.
Find Out More

Start planning your Antipodes experience

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit, sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua. Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea